The Ithilean Calendar

The Ithilean calendar is divided into 13 months, each being 28 days—four weeks—in length.

While work schedules vary from region to region, places under the influence of mages adhere to a 6 day workweek, observing the 7th day as a rest day. The days of the week are Princeday, Ploughday, Sowday, Medday, Crownday, Feastday, and Somnday.

Each day is held with its own traditions and superstitions; a son born on Princeday, for example, is believed to be blessed, while a child born on Feastday is believed to be lazy. Children born on Ploughday are believed to be inclined to hard work, while a daughter born on Sowday is expected to be blessed with many children.

Feastday is traditionally a day for togetherness, with families celebrating their week’s ventures and successes with a large meal, the leftovers of which are typically consumed on Somnday.

Named in honor of the day the first kings were given their kingswords, Crownday is the traditional day for coronations, royal weddings, and the naming of royal children.

The cycle of the year is set to wax and wane. The 13 months begin with New Year’s Day, the day after the winter solstice. While the months are named, they are commonly also referred to by what they represent, especially among farmers, where the world’s reverence for agriculture remains clearest. The 13 months are:

Ildar, the month of Waiting
Namere, the month of Thawing
Kalgel, the month of Planting
Isele, the month of Sprouting
Irroth, the month of Blooming
Emkal, the month of Waxing
Serdel, the Pinnacle of the Year
Estbel, the month of Waning
Aldat, the month of Fruiting
Risbel, the month of Harvest
Cenere, the month of Feasting
Lorhal, the month of Frost
Umdar, the month of Fading


Major holidays

Falling in line with the importance of celestial events, the most important holidays throughout most of Ithilear are the solstices and equinoxes. These—along with the first day of Ildar, the day of the new year—are also worth note as being the only holidays celebrated by all cultures.

The winter solstice, which falls on the 28th of Umdar—the last day of the year—is the most important of all, marking the end of a year’s cycle and the impending renewal of life that comes with spring. While there is some merriment and a great deal of preparation that goes into its observation, the winter solstice is a formal and sober affair.

The second most important holiday is the summer solstice, which falls on the 14th of Serdel. Although spiritually less important to the people of Ithilear, the summer solstice marks the largest celebration of the year and provides a stark contrast to the reverent observation of the winter solstice. The summer solstice festivities are often loud and vibrant, a full-hearted celebration of life.

As the modern year was established by the mages, whose greatest establishment is found in the northern hemisphere, the winter and summer solstices are observed according to the turn of seasons in the north, though the celebration of the equinoxes is reversed for the southern half of the world.

The vernal equinox falls on the 7th of Isele in the north and the 21st of Risbel in the south. Typically marked as a celebration of fertility. The period of time immediately after the vernal equinox is when most weddings take place.

The autumnal equinox falls on the 21st of Risbel in the north and the 7th of Isele in the south. Typically marked as a celebration of the harvest, and marks preparation for winter. Although some cultures across Ithilear follow the autumnal equinox with feasts of plenty—the primary reason for the following month of Cenere to be known as the month of Feasting—many smaller communities hold only one feast, which takes place on the equinox itself.

Other holidays vary by region, some of which are noted below.


Counting years

Because of the influence of magic, many Ithilean people have extended lifespans, making the course of a year minuscule enough to have little meaning to them. While the un-Gifted typically only refer to the passage of time in mention of the months, seasons, and years, mages have two additional terms for the passage of time.

A span of five years is referred to as a pent, while a span of 30 years is referred to as a braid.


Noteworthy dates

The Day of Safe Harbor, the 21st of Namere. Celebrated in the northern parts of the Westkings, in remembrance of ships sunk by storms and ice.

The Day of Unification, the 6th of Kalgel. Celebrated in the triad in honor of King Vicamros bringing the three countries together.

Firal’s birthday, the 16th of Isele.

The Day of First Kings, the 5th of Emkal. Celebrated in the north and the southern trade kingdoms, marking the gift of the first kingswords to their wielders.

Ran’s birthday, the 10th of Serdel.

The River of Stars, the 1st of Estbel. Celebrated in the Chains of Raeldan, some parts of the southern trade kingdoms, and the far eastern parts of the northern continent. Marked by the position of the planet’s second moon in the center of a band of stars.

The Day of Founding, the 11th of Lorhal. Celebrated on Elenhiise to mark the establishment of the Kirban Temple.